Murray City Community

Murray is a city situated on the Wasatch Front in the core of Salt Lake Valley in the U.S. state of Utah. Named for territorial governor Eli Murray, it is the state’s fourteenth largest city.

Parks and recreation facilities in Murray

Salt Lake County managed facilities

Mick Riley Golf Course- Two courses include an Executive and Par 3 course

Salt Lake County Ice Center- Ice Skating and Hockey

Jordan River Parkway– Natural trail and equestrian paths

Recreational facilities in Murray, with Murray owned parks designated with city logo

Woodstock Meadows Park- Natural area, pavilion, and playground

Wheeler Historic Farm– Historical park and natural area

Riverview Park- Tennis, shuffleboard, horseshoe pits, baseball complex

Murray City managed facilities

Park Center- indoor pool, basketball courts, weight room, spin room, track

Murray Aquatics Center- outdoor pool

L. Clark Cushing Heritage Center- recreation center for senior citizens

Lynn Pett Murray Parkway Golf Course- 18 Hole executive course

Murray City Park– baseball stadium, softball stadium, soccer, rugby, arboretum, amphitheatre, playgrounds

Arrowhead Park- picnic area and trailhead

Germania Park- outdoor basketball, soccer, playground

Grant Park- baseball complex, playgrounds

Hidden Village Park- tennis, soccer, and playground

Southwood Park- tennis, playground

Walden Park- canoe launch, playground

Willow Pond Park- fishing, baseball, soccer, playgrounds

Winchester Park- canoe launch, natural area, playground

Six of the newest Homes  for Sale In Murray Utah

<script charset="UTF-8" type="text/javascript" id="idxwidgetsrc-46937" src="//"></script>

Nestled at the base of Utah’s Wasatch Mountains just a few miles from Salt Lake City, Murray City Power is a publicly owned, municipal electric utility created in 1913 when the community demanded affordable—and more reliable—electricity, along with local control over a vital service.

Today, Murray City Power employs 47 individuals, performing all aspects of utility work including electrical distribution system design, construction and maintenance; electrical generation and substations; forestry division including utility arborists; and administrative functions.

Murray City Power serves approximately 18,000 customers, of which 82%, are residential and the remaining 18% are commercial and industrial.  Customer energy consumption is about 428 million kilowatt-hours per year, with commercial and industrial using 292 million kilowatt-hours, or 68%. Murray is a summer-peaking utility, with an all-time peak of 107 Megawatts.  Murray’s residential rates average 9.1 cents/kWh, while combined commercial and industrial average 7.8 cents/kWh.

Murray’s resource mix is quite diverse, with 50% energy coming from three different coal generation projects; 25% hydro; 12% renewable landfill gas; 6% natural gas turbines; and the remaining 7% from spot market purchases.

Murray’s electric utility is stronger than ever, providing exceptional reliability at competitive prices, while advancing environmentally sensitive resources. See

History of Murray City

Pioneers Settling

The Mormon pioneers came to the Salt Lake Valley in 1847. A pioneer group called the Mississippi Saints arrived one year later and began to develop a scattered settlement in the south end of the valley in the fall of 1848. The area was distinguished by various names such as the Mississippi Ward, Cottonwood, Big Cottonwood, and South Cottonwood. Written history states that at least 20 families were living in the South Cottonwood area in the 1860’s. The area remained agricultural until 1869 when a body of ore was found in Park City and additional ore was found in the Little Cottonwood Canyon. Because of its central location and access to the railroad, the first smelter was built in Murray in 1870 and Murray became the home of some of the largest smelters in the region over the next 30 years.

The first official post office was established in 1870 as the South Cottonwood Post Office. The area changed over time as the railroad came in, smelting expanded, the territorial road (later known as State St.) was established, and trolley transportation was developed. A business district also began to develop along the transportation corridor.

The City received its present name from the post office, which officially changed its name from South Cottonwood Post Office to Murray Post Office in 1883 after the territorial governor and civil war general, Eli Murray.

City Incorporation

After a riot and fire started by a rowdy group of smelter workers in a local saloon, the fight for incorporation was begun by a local newspaper editor. The final incorporation committee drafted a petition in 1901 and created an intense campaign on both sides of the incorporation battle. The election took place on November 18, 1902. Those in favor won and C.L. Miller was elected as Mayor by three votes. Salt Lake County recognized the election results as official on November 25, 1902, and the City was officially recognized as a Third Class City by the State of Utah on January 3, 1903.

Cultural Make-Up

The early Mormon settlers were largely from Western Europe and Scandinavian countries. When the smelter operations began in 1870, the ethnic make-up of Murray dramatically changed with large numbers of workers coming from Eastern Europe and Asian countries. Over half of the smelter workers came from Greece. Many came from Armenia, Yugoslavia, Italy, and Japan. These groups brought new religious customs to Murray as well. Methodist, Baptist, Lutheran, and Catholic church congregations have developed. The ethnic diversity of early Murray is very visible in the Murray City Cemetery.

Form of Government

Murray City initially created a Mayor-Council form of government. In 1911, a State law changed the form of government for cities of the First and Second Class in Utah from the old Council form to the Commission form of government. This form of government was again reversed in 1981. The City adopted the Mayor-Council form of government, which included an elected Mayor and five City Council members. To ensure staggered terms of the Council, an election is held every two years for half the Council members for four-year terms.

Murray Today

As of 2010, Murray is comprised of a population of 46,746. Murray’s boundaries have expanded a number of times over the past 100 years. It provides for most of its own services including Police, Fire, Power, Water, Sewer, Library, Senior Center, and Parks and Recreation.  Courtesy of:

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This